“Art oh beautiful art,…”

The early winter season is a favorite because of the holidays. This year’s season has been one of the happiest for me because I’m being purposeful in my enjoyment of this holy time. I’m slowing down and listening to my inner self more and finding real joy in spending time with my loved ones, plus the pure pleasure of reaping the rewards of a job well done this past year at Purple Pelican Gallery. I never forget how blessed I am that doing what I love is my calling as well as my vocation!

Business has been good this year but even more than that it’s been rewarding. Thanks to all my customers and clients who shop locally and make what I do possible. Patrons are the water source for an artist’s garden of imagination. Visual art isn’t art until it’s been seen and appreciated. Thanks to all the friends of Purple Pelican Gallery for a great season!

Let’s celebrate with Ladies Night Out! Which is actually a misnomer since men are so totally invited too. I’ll be serving refreshments (my famous you-know-what) and offering lots of bargains for Christmas shoppers. The season’s end is always so much fun. This party is the last hurrah for 2014 and kickoff for the next four months of quiet contemplation and making of art for me. Business slows down a bit but we’re open all year with winter hours Monday ~ Saturday 10:00 am to 5:00 pm.

Now is when I paint and write and catch up on restoration and framing for customers during the day and read and study new techniques and formulate creative ideas at night with my husband of 38 years, Terry. I’m studying this winter for a certificate from the New York School of Art and Design, working on decorating a new house for a client/friend, adding new designs/paintings to my Anna Banana line of clocks and tins and if I have any time left, five new original paintings for the gallery in addition to the everyday 10 to 5 stuff. Wish me luck.

Thanksgiving and Christmas come so quickly together with so many festivities that when January comes I’m so ready for the quiet of the ‘deep freeze’ that I actually long for it. Seclusion is the stimulant I crave for creativity and this goes against my very essence. I tend to be gregarious and sanguine and being with people charges me up so that my cheeks flush with blood and my heart races. Words just tumble out and I laugh and talk and talk and laugh until I’m worked into a frenzy of pure unadulterated joy! Which is why the gallery is so good for me. You may have been privy to or blame for one of my fits of bliss. I hope so!

Solitude is something I fight with and for. It goes against my nature so much to be alone and quiet that I feel I need to tie a rope around my foot when I enter that sacred space so someone can pull me out if I end up lost! When I finally get there, I get so in a zone that I can paint or write for hours without realizing it. Hence my longing for the ‘deep freeze’. I can’t wait to see what comes out of my consecrated time this winter. Don’t be a stranger. Come see what I’m working on, be a part of the process and, for sure, don’t miss Ladies Night Out!

“Art oh beautiful art, how pleasant to fill my days with you without guilt or fear of reprisal!” (Esa)



This is a poem I wrote for my daughter Shannon at Christmas Time in her first year of marriage. We lived far away and I was so lonely for her I wrote this to try and guilt her to come see me. It actually worked. She came and we had a marvelous time.



Will You Come To Visit Me?

Will you come to visit me,

perhaps at Christmas Time?

I’ll give you lots of presents,

you can even open mine!

In fact, I’ll put your name

on every gift beneath the tree

and make you creamy puddings

when you come to visit me.

Can you come to visit me?

Can you come to stay?

If you come, I’ll tell you things

I always meant to say.

I’ll make up funny stories.

I’ll sing you happy songs.

Will you come to visit me

and bring your heart along?

Imagine coming all this way

because I’m missing you.

But that’s the kind of girl you are;

the sort of thing you’d do.

I’ll sew a new white dress to wear.

You bring your golden key

and unlock the chain around my heart

when you come to visit me.

Esa Everroad

 

Leave a Reply

