What’s Going On?

Hey Patrons of Purple Pelican Gallery,

I’m pleased to report that my inventory clearance sale was a huge success and you really responded to help me meet my goal of clearing out some beautiful art pieces that needed to go to good homes. I loved meeting and making some new friends from surrounding towns and I especially enjoyed seeing my old friends and patrons for the first time since last summer.

Congrats to Lollie Eidsness for winning the $100 gift certificate drawing. We’ll do it again in June to reward our customers and clients who make it possible to stay in business!

We’ll be attending a fashion buying show in June, shopping for new styles for the Wearable Art department at Purple Pelican Gallery. We have new metal art arriving this week with more wall art on its way from three artists including some pretty fantastic abstract photography from one of our local talents. She has recently been asked to shoot the blues festival in Duluth among other things. I’m proud to be representing her work here. I’ll have more of her work displayed this month.

Art restoration remains a central part of my work and I’m currently working on a few pieces that challenge me to higher levels of insanity. People ask me why I do this kind of work. I honestly think I’m just not suited for anything else.

My flower boxes at the gallery are planted and the city of Spooner has filled the downtown pots with blooming plants and hung the baskets along the main drag, just one more sure sign of summer. The days are longer and warmer and the gardens are appearing like magic along the streets of the town.

We’re looking forward to summer and all the attendant activities including some special events here at the Pelican. I’ll keep you posted as I receive confirmations from artists.

One event confirmed on the books is our annual Art Meander.We’ll have some demonstrations by local artisans and I’ll be working on a painting plus we’ll have tours of our loft apartment above the gallery for any interested art crawlers. Be sure to  go to
www.art-meander.com for details.

Leave a Reply

